Coordinating Council

Thurston Thrives is overseen by a 24-member public-private Coordinating Council comprised of representatives from: funders (non-governmental), business, action teams/hubs, local government, and education, as well as two members at large.

The general purposes of the Coordinating Council are to measure, promote, and sustain the Thurston Thrives initiative to improve the health and well-being of all children, families and adults in Thurston County.   Its core functions are to:

  • Foster continuous communication between Council, staff, and Action Teams/Hubs, and support the advancement of Thurston Thrives strategies and goals;
  • Identify community needs, gaps and opportunities;
  • Review data and measures of progress;
  • Set strategic goals for system and process improvement;
  • Pursue resources to support Thurston Thrives strategy implementation; and
  • Help with engaging the wider community and maintaining high level of public awareness of the actions being done to further Thurston Thrives.

When do we meet?

Third Monday of every month, at 3pm


The EDC Center for Business & Innovation

4220 6th Ave SE, Lacey, WA 98503

Meet our Coordinating Council
David Schaffert
Thurston County Chamber of Commerce
Schelli Slaughter
Public Health Representative
Thurston County Public Health and Social Services
Doug DeForest
Business Representative
Thurston Transit Oriented Development
Tammie Jensen-Tabor
Education Representative
Tumwater School District
Tanya Mote
Education Representative
South Puget Sound Community College Foundation
Bud Blake
Government Representative
Thurston County Commissioner
Rachel Young
Government Representative
City of Lacey Councilmember
Nathaniel Jones
Government Representative
City of Olympia Mayor Pro Tem
Jonathan Stephenson
Government Representative
City of Rainier Councilmember
Michael Althauser
Government Representative
City of Tumwater Councilmember
Terry Kaminski
Government Representative
City of Yelm Councilmember
Peter Brennan
Philanthropy Representative
Providence St. Peter Foundation
Norma Schuiteman
Philanthropy Representative
The Community Foundation of South Puget Sound
Chris Wells
Philanthropy Representative
United Way of Thurston County
Christina Daniels
Thurston Asset Building Coalition Representative
Bay Equity Home Loans
Derek Harris
Housing Action Team
Community Youth Services
Karen Messmer
Community Design Action Team
Olympia Safe Streets
Celeste Wade
Food Action Team
South Sound Food System Network
Chris Hawkins
Climate & Clean Energy
Public Health and Social Services
Meghan Goldenberger
Education & Resilience
Jon Tunheim
Public Safety & Justice
Prosecuting Attorney's Office
Michael Cade
The Economic Development Council
Member at Large
Member at Large
Business Representative